Skip to main content

Truth Initiative Schroeder Institute® Research Investigators

Truth Initiative Schroeder Institute is a leading and trusted voice in tobacco research and our ground-breaking studies power everything we do. Our scientists and researchers use the best and most rigorous research to investigate the latest issues and trends in tobacco use, analyze policies that can protect communities and evaluate the impact of our efforts to make tobacco a thing of the past.

Meet some of our research team.
 

  • Donna Vallone, Ph.D, MPH
    Chief Research Officer
    dvallone@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: health disparities, evaluation, health communication, policy, tobacco in popular culture
     
  • Elizabeth Hair, Ph.D., M.S.
    Senior Vice President
    ehair@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: health communications, adolescent, health risk behaviors, mental health, vulnerable youth, childhood obesity
     
  • Barbara Schillo, Ph.D., M.A.
    Vice President
    bschillo@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: impact of tobacco control policies, cessation interventions, and mass media campaigns; tobacco-related disparities in priority populations; and evaluation research on the outcomes of community-based interventions
     
  • Jessica Rath, Ph.D., MPH, C.H.E.S.
    Managing Director
    jrath@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: health communication, adolescent, behavioral science, evaluation, intervention, tobacco in popular culture, health education, health behavior
     
  • Minal Patel, Ph.D., MPH
    Director
    mpatel@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: tobacco control policies; health disparities; emerging products; contextual environmental factors; and adolescents and young adults tobacco use and uptake
     
  • Alexis A. Barton, Ph.D.
    Research Manager
    abarton@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: health behavior; the formative work that informs the truth campaign; and developing metrics to asses campaign effectiveness
     
  • Morgane Bennett, DrPH(c), MPH
    Research Manager
    mbennett@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: adolescent health; substance use; and mental health
     
  • Lauren Czaplicki, Ph.D., MPH
    Research Manager 
    lczaplicki@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: traditional and digital tobacco marketing; emerging tobacco product surveillance; health equity; mixed methods evaluation of flavored tobacco bans and other regulatory efforts; and public support for tobacco control policies
     
  • Megan C. Diaz, Ph.D.
    Research Manager 
    mdiaz@truthinitiative.org 
    Research interests: tobacco and alcohol markets, marketing and use; new and emerging tobacco products; and the effect of prices and taxes
     
  • Lindsay Pitzer, Ph.D.
    Senior Research Analyst
    lpitzer@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: longitudinal modeling; mixture modeling; SEM; and multilevel (HLM) modeling
     
  • Alexa Romberg, Ph.D.
    Research Manager  
    aromberg@truthinitiative.org
    Research interests: longitudinal research design and analysis; campaign evaluation; tobacco use; and prescription opioid use and misuse

We are creating a future where tobacco and nicotine addiction are a thing of the past. This is how we're doing.

See our impact

Get the latest facts and analyses on the most important issues in tobacco and substance use.

Explore our research and resources